United Nations Commission on Korea


United Nations Commission on Korea

Agenda: Korean War

“Now I am going to tell you how we are not going to fight communism. We are not going to transform our fine FBI into a Gestapo secret police. We are not going to turn the United States into a right-wing totalitarian country in order to deal with a left-wing totalitarian threat.” –  Harry S. Truman, 33rd President of the United States.

“America is like a healthy body and its resistance is threefold: its patriotism, its morality, and its spiritual life. If we can undermine these three areas, America will collapse from within.” – Joseph Vissarionovich Stalin.

United Nations Commission on Korea (UNCK) was set up in 1948, and it was their responsibility to deal with an unyielding, formidable and crucial crisis: the Korean War.

Now, this responsibility falls on you.

This was a symbol of the beginning of the division of nations and world powers, into capitalist or communist countries. The war was fought over issues that still prevail in today’s day and age. It is your duty as representatives to decide where Korea will stand in the world.

The UNCK is a specialised committee under the mandate of the United Nations. The committee that we are simulating is one where there will be fair and just deliberations between the capitalists and communist blocs during the Korean War.

The committee is set in the early stage of the war, and it is up to you, as delegates, to decide what steps should be taken to either stop the war, or lead the people to more devastation.

We expect you to bring creative ideas and solutions to reach a consensus that will benefit both your country and your people. We will test your capacity to deal with the challenges we put in front of you.

As delegates, you are expected to follow your foreign policies. But the willingness and the ability to change the course of history is your decision.

We wish you all the best for the coming months. Remember, the future of Korea is in your hands!

Best Regards,

Udayan Mehra (Chair)

Udayvir Singhvi (Vice Chair)

Palak Prashant (Rapporteur)